Wine Labs · Market intelligence
Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir: Vintages and Prices in 2026
Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir: tech sheets from 2010 to 2025, plus live prices from 267 shops, 1,001 auction sales and 406 restaurants.
The Bannockburn Pinot Noir is the main red at Felton Road in Central Otago, New Zealand. It is a blend from all of the estate's own vineyards in the Bannockburn subregion, and it sits below the single-vineyard and Block wines in the range. The first Felton Road vintage was 1997 (Felton Road).
Felton Road publishes a technical sheet for every vintage of this wine from 2010 to 2025. Below is what those sheets say, and what the wine sells for today in shops, at auction and on restaurant lists. The prices come from Wine Labs data collected on November 4, 2026.
Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir at a glance
| Producer | Felton Road, Bannockburn, Central Otago |
| Owner | Nigel Greening, proprietor |
| Winemaker | Blair Walter |
| First vintage | 1997 |
| Grapes | 100% Pinot Noir |
| Typical shop price | $57 (median of 267 sellers) |
| Typical auction price | $52 a bottle, buyer's premium included (1,001 sales) |
Who makes it
Stewart Elms chose the site in 1991. His research picked out the north-facing slopes at the end of Felton Road, Bannockburn as one of the warmest places in Central Otago to grow wine. The Elm tree in the logo is for him (Felton Road).
Blair Walter made the first Felton Road Pinot Noir in 1997. Nigel Greening, who had bought the nearby Cornish Point apricot orchard in 1999, bought Felton Road a year later (New Zealand Winegrowers). Walter is still the winemaker, and every sheet from 2010 to 2025 names him (2025 sheet). Gareth King runs the estate (Felton Road).
The company has kept a zero growth policy since 2000 and says it has produced at its limit since 2006 (Felton Road).
Where the fruit comes from
The vineyards have been farmed organically and biodynamically since 2002. All four were certified by Demeter in 2010 and by BioGro in 2020 (Felton Road). Felton Road now farms 34 hectares on four properties: Cornish Point, Calvert, MacMuir and The Elms (2025 sheet).
The blend has grown with the estate. The 2010 to 2013 sheets describe a roughly equal blend from three vineyards. The 2014 and 2015 sheets name them as Cornish Point, Calvert and The Elms. MacMuir joins from 2016, and every vintage since is a blend of all four.
The cellar method is the same every year. The winery works by gravity, the grapes go into open-top fermenters without pumping, and part of the fruit stays as whole clusters. Fermentation uses wild yeast and wild malolactic bacteria, and the wine is not fined or filtered.
Bannockburn Pinot Noir vintages
The sheets show two changes over time. Barrel time rose from 11 months (2010 to 2014) to 13 months (from 2015). The share of whole clusters came down from about 25% in 2013 to 2016 to 20% in most recent years, and 18% in 2025. From 2016 the sheets give the share of new French oak, which has ranged from 20% to 30%.
| Vintage | Vineyards | Whole clusters | Barrel time | New oak | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Three, about a third each | About 20% | 11 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2011 | Three, about a third each | About 20% | 11 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2012 | Three, about a third each | About 20% | 11 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2013 | Three, about a third each | About 25% | 11 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2014 | Cornish Point, Calvert, The Elms | About 25% | 11 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2015 | Cornish Point, Calvert, The Elms | About 25% | 13 months | not stated | Tech sheet |
| 2016 | All four | About 25% | 13 months | 25% | Tech sheet |
| 2017 | All four | 21% | 13 months | 22% | Tech sheet |
| 2018 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 27% | Tech sheet |
| 2019 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 27% | Tech sheet |
| 2020 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 30% | Tech sheet |
| 2021 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 25% | Tech sheet |
| 2022 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 25% | Tech sheet |
| 2023 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 25% | Tech sheet |
| 2024 | All four | 20% | 13 months | 20% | Tech sheet |
| 2025 | All four | 18% | 13 months | 24% | Tech sheet |
The sheets do not give alcohol levels.
What Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir costs today
On November 4, 2026, 267 sellers had the wine on offer in a 750 ml bottle, counting each chain once. The largest groups are in the US (55 sellers), Australia (53), the UK (36) and New Zealand (20). Half of all offers sit between $54 and $67, and the median is $57. The winery does not list a price on its website.
Per 750 ml bottle, US dollars, November 2026. The winery does not publish a price online.
| Channel | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Auction | $52 | Median of 1,001 sales, buyer's premium included |
| Shops | $57 | Median of 267 sellers, all vintages |
| Restaurants | $151 | Median of 406 wine lists |
These prices don't measure the same thing. Shop prices mix many vintages and countries. Auction prices are what one lot sold for, with the buyer's premium but before shipping, tax and storage. A restaurant price includes service.
By vintage, shops ask $56 to $85, and auction medians run from $43 to $54. The 2019 has the highest shop median at $85, from six sellers. The 2021 follows, at $61 in shops against $43 at auction.
Medians per 750 ml. Vintages with at least five shop sellers and five auction sales.
| Vintage | Shop median | Auction median |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $62 | $46 |
| 2019 | $85 | $54 |
| 2020 | $56 | $48 |
| 2021 | $61 | $43 |
| 2022 | $64 | $48 |
| 2023 | $62 | $54 |
| Vintage | Shop sellers | Shop median | Auction sales | Auction median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 12 | $62 | 33 | $46 |
| 2019 | 6 | $85 | 36 | $54 |
| 2020 | 16 | $56 | 40 | $48 |
| 2021 | 16 | $61 | 23 | $43 |
| 2022 | 33 | $64 | 10 | $48 |
| 2023 | 45 | $62 | 7 | $54 |
We leave a vintage out when fewer than five sellers or five sales stand behind either median. The 2024 has the most sellers, 98 at a median of $57, but only four auction sales so far. Per-vintage shop figures leave out stores whose listings do not state a reliable vintage.
At auction
We have 1,001 sales with a recorded price, at 21 auction houses, from March 2002 to November 2026. Langtons accounts for 746 of them and Webb's for 173. The median is $52, and half of all sales fall between $45 and $62. The 1997, the first vintage, has 17 sales with a median of $53. The 1999 has the highest vintage median, $66 across 10 sales.
The median by year of sale has stayed between $42 and $68 since 2012. It was $55 in 2026 so far.
All vintages, per 750 ml, buyer's premium included. 18 to 91 sales a year. 2026 runs to November 3.
| Year | Median | Sales |
|---|---|---|
| 2012 | $68 | 46 sales |
| 2013 | $64 | 34 sales |
| 2014 | $55 | 18 sales |
| 2015 | $42 | 30 sales |
| 2016 | $49 | 44 sales |
| 2017 | $50 | 36 sales |
| 2018 | $48 | 43 sales |
| 2019 | $45 | 91 sales |
| 2020 | $51 | 34 sales |
| 2021 | $68 | 50 sales |
| 2022 | $57 | 70 sales |
| 2023 | $51 | 66 sales |
| 2024 | $48 | 66 sales |
| 2025 | $48 | 83 sales |
| 2026 | $55 | 68 sales |
| Year of sale | Sales | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 2012 | 46 | $68 |
| 2013 | 34 | $64 |
| 2014 | 18 | $55 |
| 2015 | 30 | $42 |
| 2016 | 44 | $49 |
| 2017 | 36 | $50 |
| 2018 | 43 | $48 |
| 2019 | 91 | $45 |
| 2020 | 34 | $51 |
| 2021 | 50 | $68 |
| 2022 | 70 | $57 |
| 2023 | 66 | $51 |
| 2024 | 66 | $48 |
| 2025 | 83 | $48 |
| 2026 | 68 | $55 |
On restaurant lists
The wine is on 406 restaurant wine lists in our data, collected between May 2025 and November 2026. Nearly all are in New Zealand (349 lists marked New Zealand, plus a few with other spellings), and four are in Australia. The median list price is $151 a bottle, and half the lists price it between $120 and $180.
The Bannockburn Pinot Noir in the Felton Road range
Felton Road also bottles single-vineyard Pinot Noirs from Calvert, Cornish Point and MacMuir, and Block wines from parts of The Elms. These are the wines with the most sellers in our data, all vintages together.
| Wine | Shop sellers | Shop median |
|---|---|---|
| Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir | 267 | $57 |
| Felton Road Calvert Pinot Noir | 182 | $69 |
| Felton Road Cornish Point Pinot Noir | 181 | $69 |
| Felton Road MacMuir Pinot Noir | 156 | $78 |
| Felton Road Block 3 Pinot Noir | 137 | $101 |
| Felton Road Bannockburn Chardonnay | 121 | $49 |
| Felton Road Block 2 Chardonnay | 97 | $54 |
| Felton Road Block 5 Pinot Noir | 72 | $101 |
The Bannockburn Pinot Noir row repeats the figures above. The other rows take each seller's lowest price across all vintages, with chains counted once.
Buying Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir
The winery sells direct to New Zealand, Australia, the US and the UK (Felton Road). Demand is higher than supply, so it keeps a Block List of regular buyers with a guaranteed allocation at each release. New customers join a waiting list, and the winery never sells Block 3 or Block 5 at the cellar door (Felton Road). Older vintages come up at auction, mostly at Langtons and Webb's.
See all Felton Road wines on the Felton Road producer page. See live prices and auction history in Wine Labs market data.
Data methodology: Wine Labs data, November 4, 2026, for "Felton Road Bannockburn Pinot Noir, Central Otago, New Zealand". Shop prices are live 750 ml offers from online merchants and wine shops, one price per seller per vintage (the lowest), with each chain counted once, and with multi-bottle packs and the winery's own shop left out. Auction prices are sold lots with a recorded result, buyer's premium included, per 750 ml bottle, with mixed lots and flagged outliers left out. Restaurant prices are one bottle price per restaurant. All prices in US dollars. Vineyard and winemaking details are from Felton Road's website and technical sheets, linked above.